It’s Kool Moe Dee’s birthday

Time for some Treacherous Three and, of course, the lyrical beatdown that Kool Moe Dee handed to Busy Bee at the Harlem World, Battle of The Heavyweights, 1981. This battle is one of the most infamous in Hip-Hop history and changed the game up, with Kool Moe Dee ushering in a new Rap language. I wish there was video of the crowd for this shit.

Was playing this 12″ yesterday, unaware of today’s birthday.

9 responses to “It’s Kool Moe Dee’s birthday

    • My collection of Hip-Hop 12″‘s through the mid-80’s is pretty deep, and anything on Enjoy, I’ll always pick up. I have a test pressing of the Treacherous Three’s, Yes We Can, from their Sugarhill period, that I flea marketed randomly, some twenty years ago. Dunno how much longer I’ll be holding on to them though. Been downsizing heavily but haven’t gotten into the Hip-Hop stash to see what I can bare to part with, yet.

      Like

      • I’ve parted with alotta gems that I didn’t necessarily want to, but yeah, for some reason the Old School stash remains untouched. I kind of look at those records, particularly the smaller, off-label 12″‘s, as the modern Pre-War Blues 78, for many reasons, not the least of which is that most of the time, they’re beat to death.

        Like

      • Finding those in the wild is a rare occasion and yes they usually turn up in old DJ collections that are cue burned to shit. Nice to know they were played to death at least and not just bought as trophy’s since vinyl digging became a thing back in the 90’s.
        I also pay particular attention to disco collections as these early 12’s were mostly in those collections from that crossover period (late 70’s early 80’s).
        I dig the 78 analogy, these are artifacts!

        Like

      • I’ll buy the shit outta odd disco 12”s, as well, and it’s way easier to find those in passable shape. Rare, early Hip-Hop 12″‘s have monetarily reached the Pre-War Blues level and the time span between release and insane collectability was similar to that of those 78’s, although the presence of the internet obviously took it to the next level at an increased pace. I highly recommend Freddy Fresh Presents The Rap Records, for anyone interested in such Hip-Hop obscurities. Fresh’s love for the music shines through, his knowledge is vast and impeccable, and the arrangement of 12″‘s based on record label is ideal. http://www.amazon.com/Freddy-Fresh-Presents-The-Records/dp/0974815306
        Now if I could just turn up an original Tartown label, Rammellzee Vs K-Rob, Beat Bop, I’d be set. My favorite Hip-Hop 12″ ever, and it goes for insane bank.

        Like

      • Oh, of course. That slab represents an interesting crossover of the early NY scene, desirable to anyone with an interest in the NY art scene/Warhol/No Wave/Hip-Hop…many reasons that one is a grail.

        Like

Leave a Reply

