Octavia Butler’s, Dawn, is going to be a television series?!

“Every story I create, creates me. I write to create myself.” – Octavia Butler

Octavia Butler is one of my favorite Sci-Fi authors and I really hope the best for this project. How this is the first adaptation of her numerous works, is beyond me. She probes uncomfortable and difficult themes, but ones that could prove tremendously rewarding in a television format. Of the handful of Butler novels and short stories which I’ve read, I can honestly say that they have all provoked a reaction specific to her work, which I consider a tremendous feat.

Being that it has only recently been optioned, there are no concrete details of production dates or anything else currently. There is, however, an interview with the head of the optioning production company, Alan Bain of Bainframe, and his comments reflect exactly how the adaptation should be viewed: “Staying true to Ms. Butler’s vision and legacy is of the utmost importance to me. Octavia was a genius – and this series is high concept with a lot of heavy intellectual themes, which makes the adaptation difficult. I think audiences are waiting for the first elevated science fiction TV series in a while. I believe this is it.”

http://io9.com/how-the-tv-show-of-octavia-butlers-dawn-will-stay-true-1728791278

Leave a Reply

