Who is he? Where is he from? He is Antonin Artaud, and it’s his birthday.

Who am I?

Where am I from?

I’m Antonin Artaud

And since I speak

As I know

In a moment

You’ll see my present body

Shatter to pieces

And gather itself

In a thousand notorious

Aspects

A fresh body

In which you’ll never

Be able

To forget me.

Based on an idea of Artaud’s, and realized by Germaine Dulac, 1928’s, The Seashell and The Clergyman, would influence the much more widely known collaboration of Salvador Dali and Luis Buñuel, Un Chien Andalou, making it a pivotal moment in Surrealist film.

Leave a Reply

