Song of The Day, two ways: Cod’ine – Matthew Moore Plus Four, and Buffy Sainte Marie

A Buffy Sainte Marie original, that became a favorite cover of Folkies and Rockers of the day including Donovan, Janis Joplin, Gram Parsons, Quicksilver Messenger Service, The Charlatans and this powerful Garage Punker from the Matthew Moore Plus Four. One of the most moving anti-drug songs, to this day.

Here’s Buffy performing it at the 1963 Newport Folk Festival, with her voice really ringing out in fine form.

And my belly is craving,
I got a shakin’ in my head,
Feel like I’m dyin’ and I wish I was dead.
If I lived till tomorrow that’ll be a long time,
But I’ll reel and I’ll fall and rise on cod’ine
And it’s real, and it’s real, one more time.

Well, when I was a young girl I learned not to care
About whiskey and from it I often did swear.
My mother and father said whiskey is a curse,
But the fate of their baby is a many times worse,
And it’s real, and it’s real, one more time.

Stay away from the cities, stay away from the towns,
Stay away from the men pushin’ the cod’ine around.
Stay away from the stores where the remedy is fine,
For better your pain than be caught on cod’ine,
And it’s real, and it’s real, one more time.

You’ll forget you’re a woman, you’ll forget about men,
Try it just once, and you’ll try it again.
You’ll forget about life, you’ll forget about time,
And you’ll live off your days as a slave to cod’ine.
And it’s real, and it’s real, one more time.

But if I die tomorrow, still one thing I’ve done,
I’d heeded the warning that I got when I was young.
My one satisfaction it comes when I think
That I’m living my life without bendin’ to drink
And it’s real, and it’s real, one more time.

And my belly is craving, I got a shaking in my head
I feel like I’m dyin’ and I wish I was dead.
If I live till tomorrow that’ll be a long time,
For I’ll reel and I’ll fall and I’ll die on cod’ine,
And it’s real, and it’s real, one more time.

4 responses to “Song of The Day, two ways: Cod’ine – Matthew Moore Plus Four, and Buffy Sainte Marie

  1. Buffy may have written it, but Matthew Moore nails it! One of my favorite progressive 45s – thanks for posting it!

    By the way, on Moore’s 45 (my copy at least), the title is simply “Codyne.”

    By the way, the Moore 45 cam out back when White Whale looked as though it was going to turn out to be a pretty progressive operation. They also had Lyme & Cybelle, Warren Zevon’s first released record (“Follow Me,” a truly great one). There were others hip singles contemporaneously, although they’re slipping my mind at the moment….

    Like

  2. Thanks for the tunes, Palmer! J. K. & Co. was never serviced to my radio station, or I would have had it on the air in a heartbeat – what a treat! But then again, in his autobiography, Howard Kaylan had some less-than-nice things to say about white Whale’s having their act (un)together. still, they signed some excellent music – I mean, REM basically copied the Clique’s “Superman” note for note! And the flip side was even bubblegum, “Sugar on Sunday.”

    True confession: most bubblegum music is not at all to my taste, including the Prof. Morrison track as well as most of the Super K “factory” productions – although “Green Tambourine” by The Lemon Pipers is a pretty cool record, even if the lyrics are at the high-school-on-drugs level. And, in the other direction, I get where the Rockets are coming from, as well as where they went, but I fear they never impressed me. (Not that the rest of the world should care….)

    But you hit a solid .500 here, and in major league baseball that would be worth a multi-million dollar bonus. Of course, I’m not major league baseball, so appreciation and admiration of your good and open-minded taste will have to do!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

