R.I.P. to New Orleans Soul legend, Allen Toussaint

More famous for the hitmaking successes that other artists had with his songs (none more so than Lee Dorsey) than his own recordings, Allen Touissant was nevertheless just as prodigious a talent at the fore as behind the scenes, to which the following songs will attest. Just a few Touissant compositions you might know: Everything I Do Gonna Be Funky, Ride Your Pony, Working In A Coal Mine, Mother-In-Law, Fortune Teller, Ruler of My Heart, A Certain Girl, Lipstick Traces (On A Cigarette), Get Out My Life, Woman, and many more. His impact on New Orleans Soul, and Soul in general, is tremendous. Stroll on, Allen!







And a documentary which I hope to get around to watching this week.

2 responses to “R.I.P. to New Orleans Soul legend, Allen Toussaint

  1. “Coal Mine” was a great one, as so many of his songs/productions/performances were. He produced and sang background (with Willie Harper) on pretty much all the Lee Dorsey tracks (including “Sneakin’ Sally Through The Alley”) plus Ernie K-Doe’s “Mother-in-Law,” although the signature bass line was delivered by Benny Spellman, for whom Toussaint wrote “Lipstick Traces” to try to get him his own hit.

    Allen Toussaint contributed a lot to my personal rock/r&b piano style, and I didn’t even know the name of my “teacher” for many years! He also “ghosted” for Fats Domino and Smiley Lewis A very good discographic-oriented article can be found here: http://www.soulwalking.co.uk/Allen%20Toussaint.html

    My favorite obscure Allen Toussaint track is Willie & Allen’s “I Don’t Need No One” on Sansu from 1967, written with producing/writing/business partner Marshall Sehorn. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marshall_Sehorn “Willie” on the track is the aforementioned Willie Harper. I think this record should have been huge; it sure is with me. I don’t think it’s on YouTube, but is probably in a few other places on the net.

    Gotta go play some Toussaint, Meters and Lee Dorsey and mourn a bit….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

